Shoot Out Victory for the Rampage!

Fans had a night to catch their breath from the action the night before, which turned out to be a good thing as the second game provided even more excitement than the first.  While the first game went to the final buzzer, this one went to a shoot out.


The Rhinos were determined to make a statement and did so early.  Just 40 seconds into the game, they capitalized on a turnover with Todd Thomas netting an even strength goal.  Rampage Assistant Captain Shane Khalaf evened the score midway through the period and gained the lead for the team just minutes later.  His first goal was an even strength goal assisted by Bobby Watson and Antonio Baccari ,while the second was a power play goal  assisted by Bobby Watson and Nick DiRado.


Leaving the ice at the end of the first with a one goal lead never provides a comfort level when you’re playing the Rhinos and for good reason.  Just a little over a minute into the second Vinny Bohn evened up the score.  It was the only goal in the period but wasn’t the only excitement.  Hard hits and fast paced hockey were the name of the game as both teams shared equal time in their opponents end.


Tyler Beasley gained a lead for El Paso early in the third but two minutes later, Rampage centerman, Mario Dalesandro scored a beautiful goal assisted by Broken Arrow natives, Tyler Bynum and Bobby Watson.  That would be the only goal in the third and the one that lead to sudden death overtime.  Much of the play was in Tulsa’s end during the overtime but goaltender Chris Dylewski continued to stand on his head in his strongest performance of the season. 


Allowing no goals in the overtime, Dylewski continued to shine in the shootout.  El Paso goalie, Ryan Rivera also did well as the teams had to exceed the five player shootout due to a tie.  In what had to bring luck, the Rampage’s 7th shooter was jersey #7, Antonio Baccari out of Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey.  Baccari brought the fans and his teammates to a frenzy with his game winning shoot out goal.

Copyright 2009 by Oklahoma Hockey Corporation